Introduction

I am not a writer.  I am a photographer.  With that caveat…

I have been looking to do a long term personal project.  Personal diary and inventory have always interested me.  Food interests me as well.

I have decided to photograph everything I eat or drink for the calendar year of 2009.  I am excited and daunted by the scope of this project.  There will be a lot of images to make and manage.  This will greatly effect my daily life.

I am keeping an open mind.  I am limiting my expectations: that that is, is.

I assume the first image will be a plastic cup (or bottle) of champagne photographed in Prospect Park at midnight on 1/1/09.

Wish me luck!

11 Responses to “Introduction”

  1. It must be the chinese “Year of Food” Good luck.

  2. When I’ve kept a food diary it’s usually been while dieting – a strange poem of self-restraint and accelerating desire. I predict a loss of 2 pounds per month will accompany your project.

  3. Best of Luck to you Eric! I’m rather “food focused” so this will be of great interest.

  4. wow. what an endeavor! good luck. very interesting project.

  5. How are you planning to show how food affects who you are? Are we going to see your portraits? Just curious. H

  6. ERIC I JUST LOVE YOUR COURAGE AND IMAGINATION.
    Keep the diary going! Maruchi

  7. “I’m a photographer, not a writer” I’m with you there Eric. I commend successful blah-blah-blogs but images are so much more interesting to me as well. Keep up the postings. The more the better.

  8. culinspiration Says:

    Do you ever read the New York Diet section of New York Magazine?

    http://nymag.com/tags/the%20new%20york%20diet

  9. monumentallybusy Says:

    What a great idea. My girlfriend had the same idea a couple of weeks ago, even down to the name of your blog. I’m sure this will spur some jealousy, but I’m looking forward to checking it out.

Leave a Reply

